Pier Hill Fairground was established by 1889. It featured swings,
steam roundabouts and the “Roly-Poly” ride, passengers in
which, we are told, could experience all the joys of complete
seasickness without the danger of leaving dry land!
Sherrin’s drawing for the proposed Tower buildings, as the grand
entrance to the Marine Park. It was only when the company
responsible was renamed the Southend and Margate Kursaals Company,
did the buildings become called the Kursaal.